Stand As I Did

Kuwait- When I was born,
the lie was reversed and I was tossed into the waves but I found a wooden board after another wooden board and fashioned a boat as I grew old.
And the waves kept pushing my sail toward Palestine’s shores.
Sometimes the sea was kind and calm and sometimes a storm would battle the strength of my thoughts.

When I was born,
I was forced out of my home, forced to walk desert ground leaving a house behind, murdered kins and witnessed sins that can break your soul in half like an axe to your spine.
But walk I did while my land sent vision of return to the home where I lived, so strong is my will that I survive even with bloodstains on myself.
So it does not matter how long the roads are that I walk and I will, for my map has one route and that is the way back home, like a husband to his spouse at the end of work to the house where he lives.

See now I grow old, my compass in hand is dented and rusty but it still points perfectly to where I was born to live.
Being me is a curse and a gift, my kind understand that but even with shackled hand we’re blowing a kiss to every last bit of our bliss.

The fight gets stronger through the years and tears fall like thrown spears from over cliffs, bruised and marred with battle scars, proud and tall from the battle tolls because we fight for a cause thats right while their battle is wrong.
Yes the words are simple because the call is simple, anyone who sees light and peers right could see sight of the injustice that we fight.
So we stand with our backs up-straight and slightly pulled back, shoulders wide, arms tensed and legs planted on each side.

And I die like I stood, leaving behind a will that entails what I wish, don’t cry or forgive but rise and become rebels, fight back and resist, protest everything till you die or you live in a free Palestine but always stand as I did.

Yasir Tineh

Trackbacks

  1. […] Kuwait- When I was born, the lie was reversed and I was tossed into the waves but I found a wooden board after another wooden board and fashioned a boat as I grew old. And the waves kept pushing my…  […]

  2. […] The fight gets stronger through the years and tears fall like thrown spears from over cliffs – #Poem http://beyondcompromise.com/2012/07/21/stand-as-i-did/ […]

  3. […] The fight gets stronger through the years and tears fall like thrown spears from over cliffs -#Poem http://beyondcompromise.com/2012/07/21/stand-as-i-did/ […]

Leave a Reply

